iPerform – Comedy Night

I’m extremely late with my homework this week, and when I say homework I don’t mean the 1400 word essay, I’ve got to write before I start back at Sixth Form. I mean I sit here writing this blog the day before it’s due. So, we’re all about to find out (me included) exactly how good a writer I am when put on the spot.

I mean usually, I write the blog for the following week on Tuesday the one before it goes out. This gives me exactly a week to ponder over is that word funny enough, can that sentence be made to look better, and I do that until about Saturday until I decide I’m happy with it. Today though? Well, I’ve got till lunchtime. If you’re wondering why I’m so late with this week’s blog post, it’s because I have been REALLY busy this week too. If you’ve guessed from the title. Yes. I’m doing iPerform at my school; the day this blog actually goes out! So I thought I could sit and tell you all about it, as it ticks the box for a blog this week, and gives iPerform a little boost for an audience…

So, what is iPerform? Well, it’s a week long concert that Keswick School holds every year, and each night there is a different theme to share the talent that Keswick School possesses. Monday would be Dance and Drama Night. Tuesday would be Comedy Night. Wednesday would be Choir Night and Thursday would be Band Night, here all the school’s bands would come together, perform and have a great night. Typically, the Friday is the best day of the week, because the whole school joins as one, and makes a music video with and singers lip sync the words of a few songs while walking backwards around the school to show what Keswick offers. It’s a great week that everybody looks forwards to.

This year’s iPerform is almost upon us, now for the audiences, iPerform is a great week. For the performers, iPerform is challenging and stressy. Simply because although it’s only a laugh, you want to get it right, you want to impress your audience. Which is why this weeks blog post is delayed, I’ve been rehearsing scripts for the night I’ll be a performer. Comedy Night. Now, people who don’t know me, won’t know that I’m not actually funny in any sense or form what so ever. However, I love to perform and have previously been told I’m rather good at it (me stroking my inner ego), that when given a funny script, people decide that I am, naturally, a very funny person. Which is great!

I don’t really intend for this to be a long blog as I have to cut it short so that I can go and learn my lines for the sketches I will be doing tomorrow night (tonight for you when you’re reading this/if you’re reading this on the day it’s released). I will be performing three sketches tomorrow night, a sketch from one of my favourite actors, Rowan Atkinson, a funny sketch about comedy and how to deliver comedy, and a scene from, what I think is the modern day Monty Pythons, the cast of The Sketch Show.

Sadly, that is all I have time to write this week, it was just a very short blog, however, I am extremely busy. So, if you have nothing to do this evening, and are in the Lake District, come along to Keswick School’s iPerform Comedy Night, for a great night of laughs. Starts at 7 pm.

Thank you very much for reading, I’ll be back next week with hopefully a slightly longer blog. I will be doing something very exciting which I hope to share with you.

Until next week, BYE!

Thomas

2 thoughts on “iPerform – Comedy Night

  1. I love your BLOG page Thomas and look forward to reading it every Tuesday. Once again a very interesting piece to read. We have been to the Comedy Night, tonight and once again A FANTASTIC Show Played by some very Talented young Students. Well done ALL. THOMAS so Proud Son.

    Like

    1. Thank you very much! Sadly, this weeks was extremely unprepared, in fact, I would say I was just as prepared as David Davis doing the Brexit talks this week… But nobody can go that low… Glad you liked it! A more in depth and lengthy one is to follow next week, so watch this space!

      Like

Leave a Reply

